Nothing Like a Fresh Start

I am reading over (again and again) my friend Amanda’s blog, and I’m realizing how much we have in common. We love wit. We are terrible at finishing things, because we want to start so many new things. We love television and pop culture, which most likely brought us together in the first place. We both are trying to figure out our lives, being pulled in all directions because we are genuinely curious people.

The one major difference between us, though, was that I saw this uncertainty as paralysis, and Amanda saw this as possibility.

This past weekend, I attended Amanda’s funeral. An active and healthy person, her sudden death came as a shock. How can Amanda, a girl that is always energetic and dancing, be gone? I’m still having sleepless nights over this loss, but I know Amanda would want us to live our damn lives. Although her life ended too soon, she squeezed the joy and life out of each day.Can you or I say the same?

Well, I cannot.

I stopped blogging awhile ago, because I was too concerned what others thought. I was afraid my wit might make people uncomfortable. I was afraid to be myself on screen. I want to be more like Amanda. I want to do whatever the hell I want and not apologize for it. I want to write, because I cannot live without it. Not because I have to or because I want to please people. So here I am: blogging again.

Please, read this wonderful post by Amanda on living life.

8 thoughts on “Nothing Like a Fresh Start

  1. I’m really sorry for your loss, Ashley. I am really excited that you are blogging again. I enjoy your humor. Also, I have your back if someone tries to say that you offend them. I’ll just tell them to suck it.

Leave a Reply

